List of Current Governor of India | Updated-2018


India is Republic Country, and a Governor is the constitutional head of each of the state.  The President of India appoint Governor for a term of five years. The governor is de-jure head of the state government; all its executive actions are taken in the governor’s name. However, the governor must act on the advice of the popularly elected council of ministers, headed by the chief minister, who thus hold de-facto executive authority at the state-level.

Constitutional provision of Governor-

  • Article 153 –
    According to this article shall be Governor for each state of India. But 7th Constitutional Amendment act, 1956 facilitated the appointment of the same person as a Governor for two or more states in India.
  • Article 156 –
    Indian President Appoints the Governor for each state of India and Governor hold office during the pleasure of President. It should be also noted that this article also mentions tenure of governor. In this regard it says that Governor shall hold office for the term of 5 years from date he enters office.

Working of Governor –

  • Indian Constitution empowers the governor to act upon his/her own discretion, such as the ability to appoint or dismiss a ministry, recommend President’s rule, or reserve bills for the President’s assent.
  • The exercise of these discretionary powers (विवेकाधीन शक्तियों का प्रयोग) have given rise to conflict b/w the elected chief minister and the central government–appointed governor.

List of Current Governor of  India -Updated-2018

Sr. State Name Current Governors Name
1 Andhra Pradesh E. S. L. Narasimhan
2 Arunachal Pradesh Padmanabha Acharya
3 Assam Banwarilal Purohit
4 Bihar Lal Ji Tandan
5 Chhattisgarh Balramji Das Tandon
6 Goa Mridula Sinha
7 Gujarat Om Prakash Kohli
8 Haryana SN Arya
9 Himachal Pradesh Acharya Dev Vrat
10 Jammu and Kashmir Satyapal Malik
11 Jharkhand Draupadi Murmu
12 Karnataka Vajubhai Vala
13 Kerala P. Sathasivam
14 Madhya Pradesh Om Prakash Kohli
15 Maharashtra C. Vidyasagar Rao
16 Manipur Najma Heptulla
17 Meghalaya Tathagat Ray
18 Mizoram Nirbhay Sharma
19 Nagaland Padmanabha Acharya
20 Odisha S. C. Jamir
21 Punjab V P Singh Badnore
22 Rajasthan Kalyan Singh
23 Sikkim Ganga Prasad
24 Tamil Nadu C. Vidyasagar Rao(Addl. charge)
25 Telangana E. S. L. Narasimhan
26 Tripura Pro Kaptan Singh Solanki
27 Uttar Pradesh Ram Naik
28 Uttarakhand Beby Rani Morya
29 West Bengal Keshari Nath Tripathi


Current Lieutenant Governors and Administrators of Union Territories

Sr. Office and union territory Name
1 Lieutenant Governor of Andaman and Nicobar Islands Jagdish Mukhi
2 Administrator of Chandigarh Kaptan Singh Solanki
3 Administrator of Dadra and Nagar Haveli Vikram Dev Dutt
4 Administrator of Daman and Diu Vikram Dev Dutt
5 Lieutenant Governor of Delhi Anil Baijal
6 Administrator of Lakshadweep Vijay Kumar
7 Lieutenant Governor of Puducherry Kiran Bedi



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here