List of Chief Minister In India | Updated 2019


Chief Minister – In Republic of India, a Chief Minister (C.M.) is the head of States and Union Territories (29 State & 2 Union Territories).

As the Election Over for Legislative Assembly (Vidhan Sabha), the party with the majority is entitled to form the Government. Governor of the state appoint the Chief Minister for the state according to Article 164 of the Constitution.

Powers and Functions of the Chief Minister-

The CM holds a pivotal position in the working of the State Govt. He has the following enormous powers and vast responsibilities.

  1. To Aid and Advice the Governor
  2. Head of the Council of Ministers – CM is as the Head of the State Cabinet, he has the following powers :
    1. Formation of the Ministry
    2. Removal of Ministers
    3. The Chief Minister Presides over the Meetings
    4. Co-ordinates the Working of various Departments
  3. Leader of the House

Position of the Chief Minister –

In state Governmental System The CM’s position is pre-eminent. His position will be imposing only when his party commands a clear majority (Majority in Vidhan Sabha Election) in the State Legislature.

When it is a coalition (गठबंधन) government, it becomes difficult to safeguard the principle of collective responsibility also. Much of the time and energy of the Chief Minister will, in that case, be wasted on keeping his team united and sufficiently disciplined.

Below are the list of Chief Minister of 29 State & 2 Union Territories. This type of questions are always asked in various competitive exam. We hope that such type of exam will help you to improve your knowledge and help in your preparation.

List of Current Chief Minister In India (Updated-2019)

Sr. State Chief Minister Take Charge Party
1 Andhra Pradesh Shri. Nara Chandrababu Naidu 8 June 2014 TDP
2 Arunachal Pradesh Shri. Pema Khandu 17 July 2016 BJP
3 Assam Shri. Sarbananda Sonowal 24 May 2016 BJP
4 Bihar Shri Nitish Kumar 22 Feb 2015 JDU
5 Chhattisgarh Shri Bhupen Baghel 17 Dec 2018 INC
6 Delhi (NCT) Shri Arvind Kejriwal 14 Feb 2015 AAP
7 Goa Shri Manohar Parrikar 14 March 2017 BJP
8 Gujarat Shri Vijay Rupani 7 August 2016 BJP
9 Haryana Manohar Lal Khattar 26 Oct 2014 BJP
10 Himachal Pradesh Shri Jai Ram Thakur 27 Dec 2017 BJP
11 Jammu and Kashmir  Under President Rule 20 Dec 2018
12 Jharkhand Shri Raghuvar Das 28 Dec 2014 BJP
13 Karnataka H. D. Kumaraswamy 23 May 2018 JD
14 Kerala Shri Pinarayi Vijayan 25 May 2016 CPI
15 Madhya Pradesh Shri Kamal Nath 17 Dec 2018 INC
16 Maharashtra Shri Devendra Fadnavis 31 Oct 2014 BJP
17 Manipur Nongthombam Biren Singh 15 March 2017 BJP
18 Meghalaya Conrad Sangma 06 March 2018 NPP
19 Mizoram Shri Zoramthanga 15 Dec 2018 MNF
20 Nagaland Shri Neiphiu Rio 08 March 2018 NDDP
21 Odisha Shri Naveen Patnaik 05 March2000 BJD
22 Puducherry (UT) V. Narayanasamy 06 June 2016 INC
23 Punjab Amarinder Singh 16 March 2017 INC
24 Rajasthan Shri Ashok Gehlot 17 Dec 2018 INC
25 Sikkim Shri Pawan Kumar Chamling 12 Dec 1994 SDF
26 Tamil Nadu Edappadi K. Palaniswami 16 Feb 2017 AIADMK
27 Telangana Shri K Chandrasekhar Rao 2 June 2014 TRS
28 Tripura Biplab Kumar Deb 9 March 2018 BJP
29 Uttar Pradesh Yogi Adityanath 19 March 2017 BJP
30 Uttarakhand Trivendra Singh Rawat 18 March 2017 BJP
31 West Bengal Km. Mamata Banerjee 20 May 2011 AITC


Note – For Any Update & Error … Leave a Comment.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here